National Involvement Standards (HIV)

image for NIS

The National Involvement Standards (HIV) consists of four individual but connected Standards that together enable the more meaningful involvement of people living with HIV in the services, policies and decisions that affect them, helping ensure that these are built around their real needs and experiences. By enabling the voices and opinions of HIV-positive people to be expressed, heard and acted upon, everyone will be able to provide and receive more effective, focused and impactful services and positively meaningful policies. The National Involvement Standards (HIV) better enable this to be achieved in a nationally coherent, mutually beneficial and transparent way, allowing positive people in Scotland greater self-determination in the solutions to their own needs.

The National Involvement Standards (HIV) have been designed to create a benchmark for quality involvement and have been widely consulted upon with regional and national organisations and people living with HIV to ensure the standards work for everyone.

The assessment process is as follows:

1) HIV Scotland will distribute the National Involvement Standards (HIV) (henceforth referred to as the ‘Standards’) and Assessment Toolkits to all HIV service providers, including NHS Boards (Executive Leads) and Third Sector, and Local Authorities.

2) The service provider should organise an internal meeting of management and appropriate staff to determine their existing compliance with the Standards, and to form a plan to meet all Quality Measures. HIV Scotland will be available to attend this meeting to offer advice if required.

3) It is recommended that service providers take 12 months to prepare to be assessed. During this time there should be regular communication between the service provider and the HIV Patient Forum about the process and progress towards meeting the Quality Measures.

4) The service provider should contact HIV Scotland when they are ready to initiate the assessment process and agree dates for self-assessment.

5) The service provider will distribute the appropriate surveys to staff and service users living with HIV. The surveys should be completed online, with paper copies made available when this is not possible. Participants have 4 weeks to complete the surveys.

6) The service provider should also provide additional written evidence of the service meeting the Standards to HIV Scotland for the assessment.

7) HIV Scotland will draft a report which considers all of the responses from both the staff and service user surveys and received written evidence. This will be shared with the service provider who will then have two weeks to inform HIV Scotland of any anomalies in the report.

8) The final report will be written and sent to the service provider. This report will include a score on each of the four standards. HIV Scotland recommends that this report is made available to service users and staff.

9) HIV Scotland will meet jointly with staff and service users (Patient Forum if appropriate) on a mutually agreed date to discuss the findings of the report and create a joint action plan to meet any Quality Measures not yet met, if required.

10) An Award will be given if all Standards are passed. In this instance reassessment will be recommended to take place 24 months later. If Award is not achieved, it is recommended that reassessment takes place 12 months later.

The National Involvement Standards

  1. Commitment – we want long term commitment to wide-ranging involvement
  2. Resources – we want the resources that will help involvement happen.
  3. Information and Communication – we all want communication to be clear and to have our privacy respected.
  4. Evaluation and Development – we want to see the impact of our involvement and build upon it.

Read the full National Involvement Standards [PDF - 2MB]

Toolkit1: People Living with HIV [PDF - 351kB]

Toolkit 2: Staff [PDF - 323kB]