Delete browser history

If you do not want anyone to know that you have visited the HIV Scotland website please read the information below.

What information does your browser store?

Every time you use the Internet your Internet browser saves pieces of information such as images, search terms or words used in search engines and login names. This helps the pages you visit frequently load faster by loading the files from your hard disk drive instead of having to downloading the web page in full again. These are saved as 'cookies' and they can mark a trail or 'history' that reveals what you have been looking at online.
Below are instructions on how to minimise the chances of someone finding out that you have visited this website.

If you are unsure what browser you are using click on ‘Help’ on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen. A drop down menu will appear, the last entry will say ‘About Internet Explorer’, ‘About Mozilla Firefox’, or something similar that corresponds to your browser. You can then follow the relevant instructions below.

Note: There is a risk involved in removing data from your computer. Removing cookies may clear saved passwords for membership sites or online banking.

Microsoft Internet Explorer

Viewing history

Users of Microsoft Internet Explorer 6, 7, 8, & 9 can view their browser history by completing the following steps:

  • Click the ‘Tools’ menu
  • Select ‘Internet Options’
  • Click the ‘Settings’ button under the Browsing history
  • Then click the ‘View Files’ button

Deleting history

Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.

  • Click the ‘Tools’ menu
  • Select ‘Internet Options’
  • Click the ‘Clear History’ or ‘Delete’ button under History

Microsoft Internet Explorer 7, 8 & 9

  • Click the ‘Tools’ menu
  • Select ‘Delete browsing history’
  • This will display a list of items to delete
  • Select ‘Temporary Internet files’ and ‘History’ and click ‘Delete’

Alternatively;

  • Select ‘Tools’, and ‘Internet Options’
  • In the section called ‘Browser history’ click ‘Delete’
  • This will display a list of items to delete
  • Select ‘Temporary Internet files’ and ‘History’ and click ‘Delete’
  • You can also select ‘Delete on exit’ which will delete the browser history every time you close the browser

Microsoft Internet Explorer 10

  • Click on the ‘Gear’ icon, also known as the ‘Action’ or ‘Tools’ menu, located in the upper right hand corner of your browser window.
  • When the drop-down menu appears, select ‘Internet options’
  • Click on the ‘General’ tab if it is not already selected.
  • Towards the bottom is the Browsing history section, containing two buttons labeled ‘Delete’
  • IE10's Delete Browsing History data components should now be displayed, each accompanied by a check box.
  • Select ‘Temporary Internet files’ and ‘History’ and click ‘Delete’
  • Under ‘Settings’ you’ll find an option labeled ‘Delete browsing history on exit’. Disabled by default, this option instructs IE10 to remove your browsing history as well as any other private data components that you have selected to delete each time the browser is closed. To enable this option, simply place a check mark next to it by clicking on the empty box.

Google Chrome

Viewing history

Google Chrome users can view their history by clicking on the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar. Selecting History from the list will display a list of all the sites previously visited.

Deleting history

Users can delete some or all of their browsing history from Google Chrome.
Clear the entire browsing history

  • Click the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar
  • Select ‘History’
  • Select ‘Clear browsing data’
  • In the dialogue that appears, select the ‘Clear browsing history’ tickbox.
  • Use the menu at the top to select the amount of data you want to delete. Select ‘beginning of time’ to clear your entire browsing history.
  • Click ‘Clear browsing data’.

The following information is removed when you clear your browsing history:

  • Web addresses you've visited, listed on the History page
  • Cached text of pages you've visited
  • Snapshots of your most frequently visited pages on the New Tab page
  • Any IP addresses pre-fetched from pages you've visited

Clear specific items from your browsing history

  • Click the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  • Select ‘History’.
  • Mouse over the items you'd like to remove.
  • Select the tick boxes for the items.
  • Click the ‘Remove selected items’ button at the top of the page.
  • Click ‘OK’ when the confirmation window appears

Firefox

Viewing history

Firefox users can view their browsing history by clicking on the History tab in the main menu. This will display the last 15 pages viewed. Click on ‘Show all History’ to view more.

Deleting history

Firefox users can delete their browsing history as follows:

  • At the top of the Firefox window, click the ‘Firefox’ button
  • Go over to the ‘Tools’ menu
  • Select ‘Clear Recent History’

For Windows XP:

  • At the top of the Firefox window, click the ‘Tools’ menu
  • Select ‘Clear Recent History’
  • Select how much history you want to clear:
  • Click the drop-down menu next to ‘Time range to clear’ to choose how much of your history Firefox will clear.
  • Next, click the arrow next to ‘Details’ to select exactly what information will get cleared.
  • Finally, click the ‘Clear Now’ button and the window will close and the items you've selected will be cleared.

Opera

Viewing history

  • History can be accessed by either clicking on ‘Menu’, ‘History’ or through the shortcut of Ctrl+Shift+H.
  • Clicking ‘View’ will allow users to order the results by time and site, by site or by time visited.

Deleting history

Opera users can delete their history as follows:
Click ‘Menu’, ‘History’, and select the sites they want to delete.
Click on individual sites or holding down ‘Shift’ and select many sites, then click ‘Delete’.

Safari

Viewing history

  • Click on ‘History’ in your Safari menu, located at the top of your screen.
  • When the drop-down menu appears your most recent history (the last 10 web pages that you have visited) will appear.
  • Clicking on any of these items will take you directly to the respective page.

Deleting history

If you would like to clear your Safari browsing history completely it can be done in one simple click.

  • At the very bottom of the ‘History’ drop-down menu is an option labeled ‘Clear’ ‘History’. Click on this to delete your history records.
  • To confirm that your browsing history was indeed deleted, return to the History drop-down menu by clicking ‘History’ in your Safari menu.
  • If you were successful you should now see that there are no previously visited web pages to choose from and that the ‘Clear History’ button is grayed out and unavailable.

Toolbars

Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo also record the search words you have typed into the search box. To remove all the search words you have typed in, check the individual instructions for your toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose ‘Clear Search History’.